Skip to content

Tops Things to Take on a LONG Run…

May 15, 2009

Marathon training season is here for me. I have one in the fall…yeah!

I went out last Saturday am with 2 other friends and I was just amazed how many others were out running. Of course it was a beautiful day which always brings people out in force especially in the spring!

One thing I noticed was the number of runners with their “fuel belts”. I normally don’t take mine unless I am running longer than 6-7 miles and it is hot. Saturday was one of those glorious spring days…perfect for just being outside! I love them!

I know what I like to bring along on my long runs…I have experimented enough to figue out what my stomach likes and what it does not.

My favorites are: water of course. If I have 4 small bottles I take 2 with water and two with melon Heed by Hammer. When I run longer than 10 I take Hammer gels…espresso for the little bit of caffeine or sometimes Sport Beans…rasberry!

My running group is awesome! I have been running with the Jeff Galloway marathon training group for several years. We start training the end of May for a fall marathon and we have a schedule planned out for us so when you have along run…10-22 miles…you know not to sleep in! I always do my really long ones with the group as It is very hard to slog out the the miles alone in the middle of the summer…and probably not very safe either!

As a group we coordinate drop spots for drink refills and food! It turns out great as sometimes we have all kinds of fruit, fig newtons, or mini candy bars(not so healthy but good)! It gives us all something to look forward to!

So there you have it. Things to take on your long run: water, electrolyte replacement drink, gel or beans…all in my fuel belt. I need to be better about taking my road ID…just in case. I have done a face plant or two with cracks in the side walk or an unseen post. So you never know…I will be better about taking it this summer!

Have other items that are a must on a long one?

Happy Running!

Mimi

Col 3:23 “I can do all things thru Christ who strengthens me!”

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 5:42 pm

    I’m gu…especially vanilla or plain. That stuff tastes so good I swear one night I almost had one to satisfy a sweet tooth! And I also take my phone just in case. It’s pretty skinny and I’ve got a little belt that fits gu, my phone and car keys just perfect!

Leave a Reply

