Skip to content

“I Have Finished the Race”… or Have I??

April 4, 2009

On April 1st I registered for the Marine Corps Marathon in DC…really! No this was not an April fools joke! I have been running for many, many years and have completed several full and half marathons. A few years back I entered and ran PART of the marathon. PART because I had to drop out due to dehydration. So I am now going back to “finish the race”.

Ok, now this is the scary part. I have announced it publicly on my blog so I have to follow thru! The past two years have been very busy for me with other obligations and I have not done a full marathon due to the obvious commitment! To properly train I know I have to be committed. I have to have faith in my plan and my body!

In order to finish a marathon you have to commit time, energy, focus, be disciplined, and have a plan to build up your milage . There is nothing like finishing a marathon…the effort, the fight, the mental battles, the faith you put in your body to carry you to the finish…and when it does and you finish…it is amazing!! Crazy for sure! But awesome!

Think about Jesus. He had the focus, the energy, the commitment, the disipline to build up His disciples, to prepare them for the finish…Jesus dying on the cross for us-for our sins-for us to spend eternity with Him in heaven! How amazing! How crazy sounding…but awesome!

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”  2 Tim 4:7

On Oct. 25th 2009 I plan to complete my unfinished marathon…to finish this race! I am excited! I plan to have fun and enjoy the race since the last time was miserable! I will keep you posted on how my training is going!

Find a race. Prepare.  Have focus. Have discipline. Commit. But really just have fun!

With Easter quickly approaching focus on the cross and what it means and what Jesus did for you and me!

In Christ!

Mimi

One Comment leave one →
  1. rrumary1 permalink
    April 4, 2009 2:41 am

    sweet post.. check out my blog

Leave a Reply

